IIHF–International Ice Hockey Federation

The International Ice Hockey Federation, or the IIHF, started in 1908 in Paris, France. The original name was called Ligue Internationale de Hockey sur Glace (LIHG) and consisted of 5 original members: France, Belgium, Switzerland, Great Britain and Bohemia. Germany joined later in the year as the 6th member.  In 1911, the LIHG officially started using Canadian rules, as Canada had formed the informal rules in 1873.


The league has now crossed over to other parts of the world. Just recently, India held the 2012 Challenge Cup of Asia of which the United Arab Emirates won first, Thailand finished with 2nd and Malaysia captured bronze. The tournament started in 2008. Here is a preview of the 2012 tournament:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s